Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 310 times)

Traquair

• Star
    • View Profile
« on: 03 March, 2019, 12:12:37 »
Hello
I'm pretty new to this game and recently joined the club. I recently obtained a B40 which had been lying in a shed for 40 years. I'm planing to restore the machine. Much of  the chrome work is in very poor condition. My query is - is it cost effective to have the chrome work re-plated where possible or replace with new parts where available.

berniej

• Royal Star
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: 03 March, 2019, 14:45:10 »
Hi and welcome.

Re-plating has become an expensive business - particularly in UK - in recent years and getting a really good job can be very expensive.
There's a trade-off between how important it is to keep to original parts and the cost to do so.

For example, I'm also restoring a B40 at the moment but regularly restore bikes that have badly rusted rims, fork oil seal holders, fork cap screws, handlebar bolts etc and have found that the cost to re-plate is considerably higher than the cost to replace.

Much as I love my B40, M21 and a Matchless lightweight I've just restored (actually I can't love the Matchless although I've tried) they're not really special enough to warrant the cost of re-plating IMHO.

Replacement rims are readily available in a choice of chrome or stainless - and in varying qualities too. Also there are now some chrome-effect powder coats available that are getting pretty close although will never match the shine of true chrome.

Cheers,
Bernie

'49 M21/B31 hybrid
'56 M21 combination
Bantam D7
C15 project
B40 Sportsman project

elevensies

• Blue Star
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 04 March, 2019, 10:58:39 »