Author Topic: M33. My first British bike after all these years.  (Read 178 times)

John FD

• Star
    • View Profile
M33. My first British bike after all these years.
« on: 13 February, 2019, 20:29:31 »
Well everyone Ďtis my first post. After riding for something like 45 years Iíve finally bought my first British bike. When I started riding, Japanese 2-strokes were all the rage and since the late Ď70s Iíve ridden Moto Guzzis almost exclusively. I decided that, if I was to try the Brit bike experience Iíd better get on with it ended up buying a 1954 plunger-framed M33. In the few weeks since it took up residence in my garage with my two Ď70s Guzzis, I've been able to get the starting technique right but only managed one short ride out due to the weather and salt. It wasnít totally frightening and I was actually impressed with how nippy it was up to the 55mph mark. The brakes are also plenty good enough. From a riding point of view the worst thing was the lack of a mirror to see what is bearing down on me but that can easily be sorted.

The bike isnít original. A previous owner has written B33 on the number plates but it's definitely an M33. I think the fuel tank is from a different BSA but all the mounting bolts line up. For some reason itís been fitted with a 21 inch front rim. It canít be described as oil-tight but Iíve seen worse.

There are a few things that Iíll have to do fairly quickly besides fitting a mirror. Iíll fit a side stand and will need a luggage carrier (behind its single saddle) and I need to get the horn working.

Here comes the question and itís the dreaded engine oil one. I intend to use a 20W50 but should it be low-detergent type like I use in the Guzzis, which have wet sump engines with only a gauze strainer and no proper oil filter, or should it be something else? Does it even matter?

GLENN

• Star
    • View Profile
Re: M33. My first British bike after all these years.
« Reply #1 on: 13 February, 2019, 20:58:49 »
Hi John,