Author Topic: Throttle cable  (Read 217 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Phil C

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Throttle cable
« on: 12 March, 2018, 16:12:19 »
I've got problems with my throttle cable and twistgrip, and am embarrassed to say I don't know anything about them or how to adjust them. Should the item on the photo screw into the hole in the twistgrip housing?

Phil (novice.)

AWJDThumper

  • Empire Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #1 on: 12 March, 2018, 16:58:20 »
The B40 throttle cable doesn't normally come with an adjuster fitted and so one must be fitted either at the carb end of the cable or the throttle end. The adjuster you've got slips over the inner cable and looks as though it should screw into the throttle where the cable enters. However, this depends on whether you have the appropriate throttle fitted to the bike. The alternative is to use an adjuster that screws into the top of the carb. If you haven't got one they can be obtained from AMAL/Burlen.

JulianS

  • Empire Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • A10
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #2 on: 12 March, 2018, 17:25:43 »
That is an adjuster which screws into the carb top.

Your carb top will either be threaded to take it, or if a plain bored hole will take a top hat ferrule.

See photo below, top carb top with adjusters and lower one showing the threaded holes.

The twistgrip usually takes a plain split top hat ferrule.

RICHARD MILLS

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • B33
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #3 on: 12 March, 2018, 17:36:07 »
I've never seen an Amal carb cable adjuster with a longitudinal split in it. Owner modified?

Phil C

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #4 on: 12 March, 2018, 18:54:42 »
I was wondering if it's some kind of modification by a previous owner. It was where the bare cable shows on the photo, the cable went inside it (via the slot) and the item slid up, threaded end first, into the twistgrip housing as per the route of the cable. But there appears to be nothing to stop it sliding down again. I don't get it. I guess the thread is redundant anyway. Could it be a spacer of some kind? What should be where the bare cable is?

Also, see other photo, isn't this the adjuster, about eight inches down from the twistgrip? If so, do I need more than just that one?

Phil (novice.)

JulianS

  • Empire Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • A10
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #5 on: 12 March, 2018, 19:59:16 »
Normally the twistgrip end of the cable will fit into a split tophat ferrule as in first photo.

With a mid cable adjuster, which is a much better idea that the fiddly hard to get at ones on top of the carb, you normally find a plain tophat ferrule (second photo) on the cable end to fits in the carb top.

Phil C

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #6 on: 12 March, 2018, 21:05:57 »
Let me check that I understand.  The bottom end of my mid-cable adjuster should have a plain (ie not split) top hat ferrule on it, which pushes up into the adjuster?

Phil C

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #7 on: 12 March, 2018, 21:08:41 »
Also, what kind of fit into the throttle housing should the split top hat ferrule be?

AWJDThumper

  • Empire Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #8 on: 13 March, 2018, 14:55:12 »
If the throttle has a hole which is too big for the cable, and isn't threaded to take an adjuster, then it needs the split top hat ferrule which simply pushes into the throttle housing and is held in place by tension in the cable produced by the throttle spring. You don't need anything else.

Phil C

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #9 on: 13 March, 2018, 17:27:23 »
Okay I guess the item I've got is a home-made top hat ferrule, but it's not held in place, it just falls off. Of course it could be me.

JulianS

  • Empire Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
  • A10
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #10 on: 13 March, 2018, 17:52:58 »
If you get the proper item it will be held in place by the cable.
« Last Edit: 13 March, 2018, 17:59:21 by JulianS »

Phil C

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Throttle cable
« Reply #11 on: 13 March, 2018, 18:02:06 »
Okay thanks, I'll try to get one.