Author Topic: B25 Electronics shelf  (Read 520 times)

Oliver Pi

• Star
    • View Profile
B25 Electronics shelf
« on: 30 May, 2022, 22:53:45 »
Hello All,
I'm coming down the home stretch with revival work on a 1970 Starfire.  I didn't enjoy contact breaker points back when that was all that was available so the bike has a Boyer Brandsden unit.  The rectifier and zener diode likewise were dispatched in favor of a tympanium regulator/rectifier.  All that to preface a question regarding the attached photograph.  I built a tray from aluminum sheet that holds the Boyer unit as well as the tympanium.  The tray is under the seat adjacent to the oil tank.  I assume (danger!) there will be enough air flow to keep these components cool.  I have no experience with these particular electronic devices and wonder if anyone out there vouch for or forewarn me of the arrangement shown in the photo.  I don't want to cook my electronics if it can be avoided.

Farewell for now,
Oliver

Spaceman

• Golden Flash
    • View Profile
Re: B25 Electronics shelf
« Reply #1 on: 31 May, 2022, 07:52:38 »
Modern rectifier/regulators (RR) work by shunting excess current from the alternator to ground when the voltage rises above about 14.5V - the excess power is dissipated as heat within the RR. This particular RR appears to be designed to be bolted to the bike frame in order to provide a path to dissipate the heat generated rather than being finned to allow air cooling.

The present arrangement is probably not ideal but I doubt if it will cause any problems. One of the bikes I ride has an RR in a similar place (mounted on top of a plastic air box) and, although finned, has almost no air flow over it. It also probably dissipates twice the amount of power as the B25 and has worked happily for at least 5 years in my possession without any problems.

DAVE BRADY

• Golden Flash
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 31 May, 2022, 08:10:56 »
Hi,