Author Topic: R3 choke  (Read 276 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

thunderboltandlightfoot

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
R3 choke
« on: 26 April, 2022, 08:04:15 »
Hi All , Is there an alternative to the cable choke looping back and connectimg to the lever on the left carb,have looked at handlebar mount but it looks like the left hand carb fouls on the throttle mechanism anyone have a successful system/ route TIA.

LightningAndStarfire

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #1 on: 26 April, 2022, 09:55:14 »
Are you in need of the choke for your R3? Never used it for my Lightning, just tickle, start and drive away.

Would have been a successful cost-cutting to remove those air slides and mechanism IMHO, and BSA seemed to endorse cost cutting otherwise.

However, we are conservative blokes and are used to see that choke.
Cheers :)

thunderboltandlightfoot

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #2 on: 26 April, 2022, 21:07:40 »
Hi Not had the bike for long and the choke was seized so stripped and cleaned the carbs and put back with no chokes it starts ok with a tickle of the carbs but I am having trouble getting it to tick over, it then stalls and the process is repeated time and time again and spring is here .

LightningAndStarfire

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #3 on: 27 April, 2022, 08:52:55 »
Hi, I assume you could put back the air slides without cables just to see if the stalling goes away. I think the stalling could be caused by something else. Did you manage to get the engine heat up? If so, any improvements?

Y13 Alan G

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #4 on: 27 April, 2022, 10:20:23 »
I have had my Rocket 3 from new and have always needed the choke to start from cold. However, after it has been running for only a few minutes the chokes can be fully raised and the bike will run fine. It will NOT tick over until the engine reaches proper operating temperature. Hope this helps.

thunderboltandlightfoot

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #5 on: 28 April, 2022, 20:14:24 »
Hi both  Have not managed to get it up to running temp so thats one negative, and I have ordered new splitter box to carb cables ,interesting to know it will not run well until warm, my commando is ok with no choke so thought i would try. 150 main jets and 106 needle jet and clip on middle groove,new slides and black floats,also neoprene float shut off valves I will try again
                           thanks for your help

ducati2242

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • DB 34 GS
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #6 on: 28 April, 2022, 20:59:20 »
just fitted new amal concentrics to my mk1 . Still needs choke till it warms up .
1956 bsa GS DB500
1968 mk1 Rocket 3
2006 ducati 999R .

thunderboltandlightfoot

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #7 on: 29 April, 2022, 15:52:21 »
Is the choke system /lever fixed to the left carb --is the jetting the same as the mk2

thunderboltandlightfoot

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #8 on: 03 May, 2022, 09:18:28 »
Are they mk1/or mk2 carbs mate message me on where you purchased them thx how much of a difference do theymake were they easy to set up .?

ducati2242

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • DB 34 GS
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #9 on: 04 May, 2022, 19:00:24 »
Are they mk1/or mk2 carbs mate message me on where you purchased them thx how much of a difference do theymake were they easy to set up .?

Mine were for a mk1 . I set them up with a flashlight as the youtube info . idle screws were 1.5 turns out then only needed a quarter turn either way . I bought them from http://burlen.co.uk/carburettor-for-a-bsa-rocket-3-a75r-triumph-t150-trident-paired-with-626-15-626-16.html as a complete set . bike now runs perfect . I used T160 throttle springs which are considerably lighter .
1956 bsa GS DB500
1968 mk1 Rocket 3
2006 ducati 999R .

ducati2242

  • Royal Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • DB 34 GS
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #10 on: 04 May, 2022, 19:07:41 »
Is the choke system /lever fixed to the left carb --is the jetting the same as the mk2

No its on the handlebars on a mk1 cable routing it a bit of an art . luckily mine is as it left the factory with only 4200 miles so i got the cable back to where it should be  . The problem i had was that it was re-imported from America and was set up for high altitude and the fixed pilot jets were too small for the uk . Took some finding out but i couldn't get it to tick over . Got the 600 concentrics on it now with the removable pilot jet .
1956 bsa GS DB500
1968 mk1 Rocket 3
2006 ducati 999R .

thunderboltandlightfoot

  • Star
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: R3 choke
« Reply #11 on: 13 May, 2022, 19:57:18 »
Thanks for the replies lads I am starting to get some success I had to raise the new black floats a tad changed the 1/4" petrol pipe to 5/16"had it warmed up and ticking over around a thousand revs, see what she,s like in the morning chuffed I am getting somewhere with it, thanks again much appreciated.