Author Topic: B40F wrong AAU ? electronivc ignition ?  (Read 298 times)

hoogerbooger

• Royal Star
    • View Profile
B40F wrong AAU ? electronivc ignition ?
« on: 08 August, 2021, 11:35:19 »
Just read Rupert Ratio who says AAU should be a 15degree one for a B40 star.  Have just re-found the photo I took for my record confirming I have a 10 degree one. So what difference should this make ?

(it's not running currently. I presume the erratic idle I had that I had failed to solve is un-related to the AAU and I have a new Concentric carb to fit, carb issues being my conclusion).

As a replacement decent 15 degree AAU may be hard to get I am now thinking I may have to go electronic. So anyone got a 6V electronic ignition on their B40F ? that they are happy to recommend or comment on ? 

hoogerbooger

• Royal Star
    • View Profile
Re: B40F wrong AAU ? electronivc ignition ?
« Reply #1 on: 08 August, 2021, 17:24:40 »
Oops. Just found an answer on a previous string I was involved in (!!) Julian S provided the attached indicating The AAU was changed to a 10 degree unit. So mine is correct in spec ....but old

(Still interested to hear about any reliable 6v electronic ignition though).

Have searched for info on replacement springs. 1965 parts book doesn't help. Best I've found is advice on the B50 forum:
http://b50.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=50671&sid=447ff271a3505e55be48fc5b8ed408b7#p50671

However Rupert Ratio just says the specific type changed several times & where there's a choice fit the strongest ( but also says the correct part is No. 99-1011).

I'm left not being sure how important having the "right" springs are ? or to what degree olds springs may affect function. Any views ? 

Also should the welded tabs on the 4CA AAU perpendicular to the plate ?

« Last Edit: 08 August, 2021, 17:27:54 by hoogerbooger »

DAVE BRADY

• Golden Flash
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 08 August, 2021, 17:51:49 »
Hi,