Author Topic: New member  (Read 192 times)

Calum

• Star
    • View Profile
« on: 14 October, 2020, 10:58:56 »
Hi all

Following my recent wanted ad, I am now the proud owner of a 1953 B31 plunger. I hope to get my club application sent off this week. Complete newbie to bikes, but thankfully no stranger to old British metals - I run a small range of British classic cars (no modern vehicle owned!) and my day job as a machinist/fitter restoring steam locos.

Taken me far too long to take the plunge (excuse the pun) and get one, but here I am. I'll get some pics up of the bike shortly, some of you may have seen it before - it was owned by, I think, a member of the Cheshire branch, Bill Hignett. Plenty on it to keep me busy!
« Last Edit: 14 October, 2020, 11:02:21 by Calum »

ColinF

• Star
    • View Profile
Re: New member
« Reply #1 on: 14 October, 2020, 16:10:34 »
Hi Calum, i haven't been on this forum long but i've found it very helpful ( having mainly owned restored Japanese bikes). Whatever the question, someone will have the answer......or at least an opinion! So welcome.

Pete Gill

• Star
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 14 October, 2020, 19:21:01 »
Hi Calum
Iím new to this site too.
Almost a coincidence in that I recently acquired a 1949 rigid B31!
Iíve spent a few weeks working on and off renovating the wheel bearings, brakes,tyres.
I also rewired it and I am running 12v lights (LEDs)- added an electronic regulator.
The bike starts and runs nicely on magneto.
It is a bit of an oily mess underneath (especially the primary drive side)- something to look into.
I have a few old bikes 60s 70s 80s Etc but this is a bit of a time warp to ride, great fun.
If the bike keeps running okay I will tidy it up gradually rather than a complete rebuild. I like a bit of patina instead of old bikes being too bright and shiny.
Pete

Calum

• Star
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 15 October, 2020, 10:32:19 »