Author Topic: First classic  (Read 5345 times)

Phil C

• Golden Flash
    • View Profile
First classic
« on: 02 August, 2017, 21:41:38 »
I'm a new member. I've recently passed my motorbike test, retired (I'm 63), and bought a bike (2011 Bonneville T100). I have no experience of motorcycle maintenance, but I also fancy buying a classic to tinker with/try to maintain. I guess I ought to try to keep things relatively simple, and want to keep cost down, and I was wondering what bike to look for. What about a BSA B40? Would that be a good choice? I'm 6ft 4ins tall. A C15 would, I guess, be too small. A Starfire I think is a bit bigger (I had one long ago when I was about 17), but I don't like the appearance of that as much as the C15 and B40.  Any advice please?  Phil.

TIGERJ

• Blue Star
    • View Profile
Re: First classic
« Reply #1 on: 03 August, 2017, 06:46:16 »
Hi Phil
         Welcome to the forum.
         I bought a C15 about a year ago, just completed a winter rebuild
         Great fun plus lots of help from members.
BSA bikes a great place to start.
By the way B40 to just a bored out C15.
Regards
           Tim

Phil C

• Golden Flash
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 03 August, 2017, 07:40:15 »
Thanks Tim. I thought a B40's seat height was bit  higher than a C15's? Would a B40 or C15 be a bit too small for me, as I'm 6ft 4ins tall?  Phil.

Greybeard

• Royal Star
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 03 August, 2017, 10:08:48 »
Hello, Phil.
I know it's a bit heretical on this forum, but being of a similar, albeit not quite, stature, have you looked at the AJS/Matchless 500 singles of around 1960? I have a 1961 G80 which has a similar bulk/seat height to my modern Bonnie. It also has enough grunt not to be phased by hills when a larger pilot is aboard  ;) The physical size difference when standing alongside my Golden Flash or B31 is quite pronounced.
Sorry for mentioning the 'opposition', folks, but we love all, well most, old bikes don't we?  :)

Steve